Prize for Sustainable

Film Production 2023

Awarded by

The Eisvogel – Prize for Sustainable Film Production

The inaugural Eisvogel – Prize for Sustainable Film Production will be awarded by the Federal Ministry for the Environment (BMUV), the Federal Government’s Commissioner for Culture and Media (BKM) and the Heinz Sielmann Stiftung to recognise film productions that make use of sustainable production practices in their planning and execution. The prize is awarded together with the Allianz Deutscher Produzenten – Film & Fernsehen e.V. (association of German film, TV and media producers) and the Produzent*innenverband e.V. (association of producers).

The "Eisvogel - Award for Sustainable Film Productions" is endowed with 20,000 euros in its main category and 5,000 euros in the newcomer category.

To qualify for the prize, a production must meet the following criteria:
Its producers must clearly acknowledge their responsibility to reduce their impact on the environment.
The production must be entirely planned and carried out in accordance with the current ecological standards for film productions.
Measures exceeding the minimum standards as well as innovative ideas need to be implemented that led to a significant reduction in environmental impact.
In their quest to promote greater sustainability in the film industry, the founders of the Eisvogel Prize chose the symbol of a kingfisher to represent an intact natural world and healthy, life-sustaining waterways. The prize aims to encourage participants from the sector to adhere to sustainability standards during the production of audiovisual media.

The award ceremony for the last competition period took place on 15 February 2024 in Berlin in the presence of the Federal Minister for the Environment, Steffi Lemke, and the State Minister for Culture and the Media, Claudia Roth.

The details for the competition conditions for the 2024/25 period are expected to be published on this website in the "competition" section in May 2024.

Awarded by